Homemade Blueberry Jam

I was inspired by the ease and taste of my Strawberry Jam, so I thought I would try to do the same with Blueberry Jam.  My friend Midon and her kids brought me some fresh-picked blueberries from Cox Berry Farms, so I thought I’d try it.  I found a recipe on another web site that was very similar to my Strawberry Jam, but I ended up adapting how I cooked it as I went.

image

I started with fresh blueberries. I halved the recipe only used 2 1/2 cups, which yielded only a half jar. Next time I will use the original recipe, 5 cups.

image

I mashed the 2 1/2 cups blueberries with 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 tbsp. lemon juice, and 1/8 tsp. salt.  I brought them to a boil and then simmered for about 30-45 minutes, stirring occasionally.  The recipe I followed said to cook on medium-high for 18-25 minutes, but my blueberries started bubbling, making quite the mess.  That’s why I cooked a little longer but on low. 

image

The blueberry jam got thicker quicker than the strawberry jam.  After it was thick enough for my liking, I funneled the mixture into a freshly-sterilized mason jar.

image

My first taste of the blueberry jam was on a peanut butter and blueberry jam sandwich. 🙂 It was very good! I can’t wait to try it on biscuits or toast soon!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Blueberry Jam

  1. Pingback: What to Buy at Kroger This Week (5/30 – 6/5) | Bibs and Aprons

  2. Pingback: What to Buy at Kroger This Week (June 20-26) | Bibs and Aprons

Leave a comment