My First Week as a SAHM

Well, I completed my first week as a Stay at Home Mom.  Since Drew came down with the flu on Tuesday and couldn’t be at school, it wasn’t exactly a typical week, but I thought I’d share my initial thoughts.

What Surprised Me

The first thing that surprised me was how much more relaxed I was.  When I worked outside the home, I was constantly trying to hurry up and get dinner ready, hurry up and get dinner cleaned up, hurry up and get laundry done…. I was always trying to hurry because (1) it wouldn’t get done if I didn’t get it done, (2) I wanted to spend time with the kids, or (3) I was tired from the day and just wanted to sit down.  This week I was able to get my daily tasks completed and still have time to spend with the kids.

The second thing that surprised me was how physically exhausted I was! Having sat at a desk all day for almost a decade, I now realize why one’s life expectancy is lower if one sits down all day!  Just the little chores around the house, being on my feet and walking much of the day wore me plum out!  Maybe this is the first step in getting back in shape?

What I Enjoyed the Most

Besides the obvious – getting to spend more time with Drew & Alyssa – what I enjoyed the most was getting to really enjoy our evenings together as a family.  When I was working outside the home, my evening ritual was make dinner, eat dinner, clean up dinner, spend 10-15 minutes with the kids, give kids bath, put kids to bed.  There really wasn’t much family time because we had so much to do. 

What Made My Days Go Smoother

All my former coworkers joked with me that I’d be in my pajamas sleeping til noon when I was at home.  But nothing could be further from the truth.  The fact is, while I was working I got up at 5:15 a.m. so I could have time to do laundry, empty the dishwasher, and make everyone’s lunches.  Having this time was a huge help to me as a working mom, and I knew that keeping that schedule would only give me a head start being at home. So I let myself sleep in til 5:30 a.m., when Matt gets up, and got a start on my day.  Getting those tasks done before the kids awoke made my whole day go smoother. I also felt that perhaps my being up when he was up would help him get a start on his day, mentally.  I really do believe my job as a stay-at-home mom is still a job and I should take it as seriously as I took my job outside the home. For me, because I am a morning person, that meant continuing to get up early.

What Will Take Some Getting Used To

I already feel like I’m in isolation.  Today I went out to a friend’s house and I realized it was the first time I had been in town during the day since Tuesday.  It hasn’t gotten me down yet; it just is a little bit of an odd feeling.  In a few weeks I may be writing that I’m certain I’m losing my mind.

It has been six straight days of preparing every meal at home.  While I enjoy cooking and I am loving trying new recipes now that I don’t have time constraints, I am really, really, really looking forward to eating out tomorrow night!  🙂
So, overall, it was a great week! I was glad to be able to pick Drew up early from school when he was sick and be able to stay home with him. I enjoyed working with him on his school work that he missed.  (Deciding to go beyond the school work, I taught him what odd and even numbers were, but when he asked me why they were categorized that way, I honestly couldn’t remember!)   I was able to enjoy Alyssa and see a side of her I haven’t gotten to see before.  I was able to teach her something! (She can say her numbers in order but I taught her how to count objects…. I was very excited about that!)

Next week should be more of a typical week, with Drew back in school, but overall the first week was a great one!

Leave a Reply

