Seven Uninterrupted Hours

Today I have had seven uninterrupted hours alone at home.  My parents have been missing seeing the kids daily, so after I dropped Drew off at school, Dad came to get Alyssa before taking her to Mother’s Day Out.

Before the kids got up I got several of the tasks on today’s planner completed: clean the bathroom counters, sinks, and mirrors, and put the master bedroom sheets in the wash.
image

After Alyssa left, I put two crock pots on for homemade chicken broth.  I actually am doing this for the meat more than the broth because I’ve discovered it’s cheaper to use this meat in casseroles and the like – anything where the chicken is shredded.  (But because I’m going to have all this broth, I’m making baked potato soup next week!)

After that I swept and mopped all the bedrooms, bathrooms, and closets, plus the hall and entry way.  Then I cleaned and disinfected all the trash cans.  I have to say I have NEVER done that in my life.  This planner (The Confident Mom planner) has really been a real help!

 

Then came the big PROJECT.  Cleaning out the kids’ playroom and Drew’s room.  I got rid of some toys, but not as many as I expected.

image
image

Rather, I ended up reorganizing them to a much neater, usable space. I hope they enjoy it! It took about 3 hours!  Looking at it, I feel such a sense of accomplishment.

Also in between tasks, I made homemade croutons for a meal I’m cooking tonight.  I figured why buy them when I have bread that’s going stale.  It was super-easy and they turned out great!

(If you’re curious: cube 6 slices of bread.  Mix together 3 tbsp. melted butter, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. parsley. Toss with the cubed bread.  Spread on cookie sheet in single layer and bake at 300 for 15 minutes.  Shake the sheet a bit and cook for another 15 minutes.)

And now I’m sitting here, making myself take a break.  I don’t want to be so exhausted that I don’t have my best to give to Drew and Alyssa in about an hour, and Matt when he gets off work.

Here are my two things I learned today:

1. Cleaning is hard work, but it is totally worth the payoff.  It makes my home more of a peaceful haven for everyone.  And taking small bites – by doing a few tasks per day – makes it so much more manageable.

2. I am really enjoying trying new things – like making homemade croutons – and making those new things staples in my home to healthier and more frugal living – like the chicken broth.

3. I am VERY thankful for the Internet, for without which, #1 and #2 probably wouldn’t have come so easily. 🙂

Leave a Reply

