Cooking from the Pantry February Challenge

image

I sure hope I didn’t bite off more than I can chew.  This is the plan for my spring garden.  All the garden books say to start small.  Last year I had 2 raised beds (64 square feet).  This year I’m doing 1250 square feet. (I started small last year, right?)

As I was planning the garden, I realized that this might take more out of pocket cash than I anticipated.  The seeds, transplants, compost, and soil are not free.

So I am challenging myself in February to cook from what I have in the freezer and pantry as much as possible to see how much I can shave off my grocery bill in one month. Then, the difference I will use to purchase gardening items.

Keep in mind that I’ve already cut our grocery expenses by 1/3 by couponing and stocking up on sale items, so cutting it even further will be a challenge.

But I’m up for it!  And I’m taking a risk because I’m sharing it with you.  Win or Lose.  You’ll be seeing updates in the next month on how I’m doing.  And hopefully it will inspire you to work toward the same.  You may not be building a ginormous garden, but surely there’s something you really want but it’s not in the budget.

Here are the guidelines I’m going to follow:

1. Look in the freezer and pantry and plan meals first with the food in there.

2. Do not try a new recipe unless you have most of the ingredients on hand.

3. After planning meals based on on-hand ingredients, plan meals based on items that are on sale.

4. Continue to stock up on sale items. (I can’t go depleting my store of stock-up items without replenishing them with items that go on sale this month, or else I’ll be shooting myself in the foot in the next months.)

The good news is that February is a short month.  I can do this!  Who’s with me?

2 thoughts on “Cooking from the Pantry February Challenge

  1. February is a good month for challenges. Last year I decided that I was going to spend $250 during the entire month of February. The $250 included everything that I would normally spend: food, gas for the car, my one lunch out a month with a friend, eating out in a restaurant, movie rentals, clothes and most importantly my ‘Lifeway habit’. I was teaching a Bible study and shared with them what I was doing. I was stocked in the pantry and freezer and did that same as what you are doing. Then I filled the car with gas on January 31st just so I would have a little bit of backup.

    I was able to do everything I set out to do and had $22 left over at the end of the month. I am doing it again this year. I just made it into a game. I will pray for you and you can pray for me that we will both make our goal.

  2. Pingback: Preparing for a Power Outage | Bibs and Aprons

Leave a Reply

