Apple Cinnamon Vanilla Pancakes

image

My kids’ favorite breakfasts are pop tarts and pancakes.  Not exactly the best nutrition to start the day.  I’ve been making my own homemade panckes for about a year, and though that is cheaper and more nutritious than any processed frozen breakfast, I wanted to see if I could make it a little healthier.

Last week I bought some green apples on sale for $0.99/lb, so I decided to see if I could shred some into my pancakes undetected.  I also thought some cinnamon might be a good addition, and some vanilla wouldn’t hurt either.

The results:  the kids couldn’t tell the difference (I didn’t tell them), but I could, especially with the cinnamon and vanilla, the pancakes had such a sweet and deep flavor.  Next time I may try to add some more apple since I didn’t taste that at all.  But at least the kids got some apple in them even though they didn’t know it! 🙂

I took my Homemade Pancake Recipe and doubled it.  (Click here to see it.) I peeled a green apple and grated it into the dry ingredients, mixing a bit.  Then I added about a teaspoon of ground cinnamon.  Once the wet and dry ingredients were mixed, I added about a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla.

For this recipe I used white whole wheat flour, and I couldn’t tell a difference at all like I can sometimes with baked goods. So this is another good recipe I can make healthier by using white whole wheat flour.

This is a perfect recipe for busy moms, especially working moms.  I always make a double batch now and freeze the pancakes between parchment paper (wax paper doesn’t work, trust me).  Then on busy mornings, I just pop the frozen pancakes in the toaster.  When I was working, I’d make the batch on a weekend and have plenty of pancakes for the rest of the week or even more.

 

Leave a Reply

