2013 Garden Recap and 2014 Garden Planning

Garden 7-26 014

Now that Christmas is over, I’m starting to get that garden itch.  I was so exhausted in September and October between harvesting and canning that I couldn’t wait until the dead of winter when I could REST.  I have to admit, it has been nice not to have garden chores every day.  But it has also seemed like something is missing.  The sheer fact that I’m excited to begin my garden again – with added square feet – tells me that last year’s garden wasn’t simply a whim.

The first thing I’ll be doing now and into the new year is planning.  I recall last year reading every garden book I could get my hands on.  I had all this book knowledge but had no experiential knowledge.  This year, I’ll at least have some experience under my belt. I’ll know which pests to look out for.  I’ll know which varieties to plant and to avoid.  I’ll know I don’t need quite so many cucumbers but could use some more beans.

In my planning, I will be taking each crop individually and evaluating last year’s experience while planning for this year.  Since I’m going to be doing all this anyway, I thought I’d share it with you.

If you’ve always wanted to start a garden, I think you’ll find lots of useful ideas because I was brand new at it last year and I remember what it felt like to have no clue.

If you want to expand your garden and plant some crops you’ve never planted before, hopefully you’ll find my hits and misses useful.

If you’re a gardening connoisseur, please read my blogs and add your experiences.  I still have so much more to learn.

Here’s to a great gardening season!

My first blog post will be on the first crop I’ll be planting: potatoes!

Leave a Reply

