My Garden in Photos – March 29th Update

It’s garden season again!  I’m so excited to be back outside in the warm sun and cool breezes of spring.  I took my first garden photos on March 15th and again today, March 29th.  I’m at the very early stages, but it’s fun to see the progress already. The photos that are side by side are photos from March 15th compared to today.

Blackberries and Raspberries

My goal is to add at least one new crop each year. This year I’ve added two: blackberries and raspberries.  It’s hard to see from the pictures below because they are just beginning to grow, but the new shoots have emerged significantly in just two weeks.

Below: Navajo Blackberry

315 blackberry2 315 raspberry 2

Below: Raspberry

329 blackberry 2 329 raspberry 2

Below: Arapaho Blackberry

315blackberry1329 blackberry 1

Below: Raspberry

315 raspberry 1 329 raspberry 1

Cabbage:

315cabbage  329 cabbage 2

Spinach:

I have had horrible luck with spinach the past two years, so I’m really excited that I’m actually seeing growth this time!

315spinach 329 spinach

Below is an overhead view of my cabbage on the left and spinach on the right:

329 cabbage

Blueberries:

These are my second-year plants. I’ve been amazed by the vertical growth over the winter, and they are just beginning to produce new growth. Maybe this year I’ll have more than a cupful after Alyssa eats her fill off the bushes. 🙂   The varieties I have are Climax, Tifblue, Pink Lemonade, and Brightwell. These are photos I took today. There were no blooms two weeks ago.

329 blueberry 1 329 blueberry 2

329 blueberry 3 329 blueberry 4

Broccoli:

I’m sad to report that rabbits ate my first batch of broccoli I planted two weeks ago.  This is my second try.

329 broccoli

Onions:

I planted onions about 5 weeks ago. The cold snaps and snow didn’t help their growth, but they’re coming back.

329 onions

Oregano:

Either my oregano from last year survived or it self-seeded. Either way, I’ve got some beautiful oregano in the garden already, with no effort!

329 oregano

Garlic and Strawberries:

I planted garlic cloves last November and now that the days are getting longer and warmer, they are growing really tall. This is exciting since I’ve never planted garlic before.  I planted them in my strawberry bed, and in just the last week the strawberries have begun to come to life.  Very exciting!

329 strawberries

Peas:

This is my first year to try peas. They’ve been in the ground for three weeks and I was wondering if they were ever going to sprout.  In just this past week they’ve come up and begun to grow quickly.

329peas 329peas2

In the next few weeks I’ll be planning and planting my early summer crops: tomatoes, cucumbers, squash, corn, and beans.  Later in the spring I’ll add peppers, okra, watermelon, black-eyed peas, and cantaloupe.  I’ve also begun to plant from seed several herbs: chives, sage, mint, spearmint, basil, cilantro, stevia, and dill.

Leave a Reply

