My Story Part 6: A New Way of Life

From Working MommaThis is my story of “Coming Home” after being a working mother for six years.  You can read part 1 of my story here, part 2 here, part 3 here, part 4 here, and part 5 here.

I have been a stay-at-home mom now for over a year.  The transition wasn’t near as bumpy as I expected it to be.  It helped that Drew was in school and Alyssa continued to go to Mother’s Day Out two days per week.  This helped me ease into my new lifestyle and continue to pursue my own interests.

The biggest difference in my way of life that I noticed was a slower pace.  I actually had time to sit down and enjoy my kids.  I wasn’t rushing from one task to another just to keep everything from crumbling on top of me.  I wasn’t limited to 30-minute meals.  I could grocery shop on a day other than when the rest of the city was shopping.  I could enjoy play dates.

I also was able to stay home with Drew when he was sick or take Alyssa to the doctor without taking off work. I didn’t have to worry about a job when Drew broke his leg.  I was able to thoroughly enjoy our first summer together.  I was also able to spend much more time with my mom and go to her doctor appointments.

My biggest challenge is resisting my task-oriented nature and simply “being” with my kids.  I always see something else that needs to be done instead of living in the moment with them.  I didn’t become a natural kid-person when I quit my job to stay home with them. Those challenges still remain.  I learned to rely on God’s strength and not my own, sometimes the hard way.  I blogged on my struggles and victories in the early days here.

Do I miss working? No. Do I miss my job? Sometimes. Do I miss my former coworkers? Absolutely. I worked with some of the greatest people I have ever known at Cogswell Motors. But being able to be available to my children is a much greater joy.

It’s the little things. Like running errands with Alyssa by my side. Going to every one of Drew’s school events, even the ones during the day. Having an early dinner so we can play together outside afterward. Going to the library together every Wednesday after school. Having no anxiety when a child comes down with a fever.  Planning playdates on the spur of the moment. Knowing I have the whole summer to make memories with my kids.

Some things money just can’t buy.


Summer(1)Coming June 9th! Summer in the Vine Bible reading series!  Sign up now to receive a summer Bible reading plan plus devotionals straight to your inbox!

View the topics and get more information on the Summer in the Vine series here

 


 

Did you enjoy this post?

Subscribe to My Updates and receive a monthly enewsletter with subscriber-only content plus a weekly recap of the week’s posts.

One thought on “My Story Part 6: A New Way of Life

Leave a Reply

