When a Response to Interruption Reveals the Heart

1 Corinthians 13_13“Mom!!!” Alyssa called to me from the dining room. Frustrated at the umpteenth interruption while I was trying to write, I bitterly responded with a clipped, “What?!”

“I love you,” she replied sweetly.

Guilt nipped at me as I replayed the events of the last hour. In her room, Alyssa refused to nap. She sang, she talked, she called, “Mom, can I get out now?” a dozen times. Each time my response was less patient and more agitated. Didn’t she understand I needed this time? I was trying to concentrate on my writing and putting together next week’s Summer in the Vine devotionals. All for God, after all.

But I knew…the moment my response held bitterness instead of love, I should have stopped what I was doing. God would never call me to a task where I would have to respond to anyone in the way I responded to Alyssa. Even if it wasn’t hateful, my tone told her, “What I’m doing is more important than what you have to say at this moment.”

My Father is a God of love. He values people over projects.

And the moment I gave into my frustration by choosing my task over my daughter, I was failing to trust God to provide the time, inspiration, and opportunity to do what He has called me to do.

What is your sign that you need to slow down, even if it’s just for a moment? For me, it was the second Alyssa became an interruption instead of someone to nurture and love. This doesn’t mean I always drop everything for her but that no matter what I do – even if it is a gentle, “Go back to bed, sweetheart” – I am doing it out of love for her. I am valuing her above my tasks.

If I speak in the languages of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a sounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophesy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so that I can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.” 1 Corinthians 13:1-2 HCSB

I’m sure there would be a nice way to end this post but a little girl just came to sit in my lap, and I’m going to let her stay as long as she wants.


 

Did you enjoy this post?

Subscribe to My Updates and receive subscriber-only content plus a regular recap of recent posts.

It’s simple and takes only 5 seconds!

Click here to subscribe! 

Leave a Reply

