Why I’m Having to Take a Writing Break

Do you have any idea what it is like for a writer to have multiple thoughts swimming in the mind, unable to be penned?

Torture, mind you, torture.

I’ve got some good ones that have come out of circumstances of late: spiritual warfare, intercession, Christian unity, the cost of following Jesus, investing in others…. And they’re good. (Admittedly they’re always better in my head than on paper it seems.)

But I have had to take a break because, well, the garden. I should know by now.  With the harvest, canning, freezing, and drying on top of two children’s birthdays, back to school, starting preschool with Alyssa…August should be my writing Sabbath. Not that I’m resting, mind you.

But I thank God every day for a garden that is producing and the physical strength equal to my harvesting and preserving tasks. And I’m thankful for Matt’s new photography hobby so he can capture some of these special memories.

MRM_8799_001

MRM_8824_001

 

MRM_8839_001

MRM_8847_001

MRM_8831_001

MRM_8900_002  MRM_8810_001

MRM_8826_001

MRM_8793_001

MRM_8907_001

MRM_8903_001

 

MRM_8913_002

wpid-20140820_141336.jpg

Above: Breaded okra for freezing, basil pesto for freezing, banana peppers, green beans, okra pickles, black-eyed peas, sweet pickle relish

 

Sign up!

Leave a Reply

