I Saw a Sign. A Purple Sign. It was from God.

 

13 Christian SongsSo, I joined a gym. It’s kind of funny how it happened. I had become very concerned that at my mid-30-ish age that I was in such poor shape. Aches and pains were coming way too frequently for my liking. I began to see myself two decades down the line too frail to be able to enjoy retirement and my grandchildren and, most importantly, to be able to do ministry.

I had tried the whole running thing. I’ll just say it. You runners are plain crazy. I have the utmost respect for you but I just don’t get it. Not even the beautiful spring mornings were enough to keep me wanting to do it – and I was only running (ahem, walking mostly) less than a mile.

I had tried Zumba on my Xbox Kinect. That worked great until my Zumba game quit working; plus, I had gotten bored with the 30-minute routine and wasn’t coordinated enough to jump to the hour one.

So my horribly out of shape self decided to do the only thing I knew to do. I prayed. My desire has always been to do ministry and I hope someday I can travel and speak and serve. But that would become difficult if I don’t take care of my body now.

Now I will give you permission to laugh at me. I truly believe God has a sense of humor. Not long after I began praying that God would show me how to get in shape and find a plan I would stick with, I saw a sign.

A purple sign. On the side of the road. That said $10 per month.

Planet Fitness was opening in my town. It was from God. 🙂

courtesy: annarbor.com

So I talked with my husband and not only did I sign up but I also signed him up. I began on the treadmill – mostly walking – catching up on my favorite podcasts a few times per week. Then one day I was on the elliptical and decided to turn on some Christian music after a podcast had ended. I was amazed at how much more energy I had once I was listening to these upbeat tunes. I went from going 1 mile on the elliptical to 2.5 simply by the music I was listening to.

(That very night I saw on the news ticker that a new study showed a higher level of performance in exercise when listening to upbeat music. Just thought I’d throw that in.)

Then I got serious. I began doing searches for Christian music workout tunes and came upon this post by Running Rachel. I quickly looked up some of her suggestions and added them to my playlist.

Below is my playlist that I’ve tweaked to my personal routine. These give me 49 minutes on the elliptical, which equates to about 4.5 miles. I chose about 10 minutes of warm-up songs, followed by a sort of interval workout until finishing with “All the People Said Amen.” I’ll also note that all of these songs were free to download for Amazon Prime members.*

1. Beautiful Day by Jamie Grace

2. Burning in My Soul by Matt Maher

3. He Moves You Move by Audio Adrenaline

4. I Feel So Alive by Capital Kings

5. My Lighthouse by Rend Collective

6. Build Your Kingdom Here by Rend Collective

7. Just a Friend by Jamie Grace

8. Glorious Unfolding by Steven Curtis Chapman

9. Do Life Big by Jamie Grace

10. Greater by MercyMe

11. White Boots by Jamie Grace

12. Every Good Thing by The Afters

13. All the People Said Amen by Matt Maher

If you’re looking for some upbeat, positive, Christ-centered workout music, or just some music to lift your mood, these are some to get you started. For those of you who listen to Christian music during your workout, do you have others to add to the list? I’d love to get a second playlist started!

*If you’re am Amazon Prime member, simply download the Amazon Music app to your smartphone. Search for the songs individually (some albums will not be free for Prime members but the individual songs are). Or click the links above and add them to your library in Amazon. From the app simply organize into a separate playlist. Be sure to download the songs to your “device” and not just keep them on the cloud; otherwise you’ll use data when you’re playing them unconnected to Wi-Fi.
 
Coming in two weeks!!
Glory in the Garden: 30 Days of Devotionals
FREE e-version for e-mail subscribers!

Sign up!
Click the link above to receive Glory in the Garden for free when it is released in late November!
*The paperback version will also be available – a great Christmas gift!*
Leave a Reply

